Bulldogs News


Ton Pentre v STM Sports l JD Welsh Cup Round 1 l Saturday, 4 October 2015 l Ynys Park l KO 2.00pm

JD Welsh Cup Close

A depleted Ton Pentre team will welcome Welsh League Division Three outfit STM Sports to Ynys Park on Saturday (3 October) in Round 1 of the JD Welsh Cup.

Key Bulldogs players are expected to be missing from team through injury with Aaron Jewell, Richard Evans, Tom Billing and Ross Porter all sidelined through lengthy injuries. Meanwhile, Club Captain Thomas Davies is also expected to be unavailable after sustaining a leg injury in the 3-1 defeat against Port Talbot Town in midweek.

With Ton Pentre weakened, STM Sports may feel that they can cause a Welsh Cup upset on their visit to the Rhondda and book a place in the Round 2 draw that will be featured on FAWTV on Monday, 5 October.

STM Sports achieved Welsh League status after being crowned champions of the South Wales Amateur League last season and beating Pontlottyn of the South Wales Senior League 4-1 in the promotion play-off that was held at Cardiff City Stadium.

To get to Round 1 of the JD Welsh Cup, STM Sports have already played two matches in the competition, beating West of St Julians 6-0 in Qualifying Round 1 and defeating Porthcawl United 5-1 in Qualifying Round 2.

STM Sports have only been in existence for eight years and the match against the Bulldogs in the JD Welsh Cup is sure to be considered as the biggest they’ve ever had.

The match at Ynys Park kicks off at 2.00pm and it promises to be an exciting encounter.


Conwy Borough v Cefn Albion
Hawarden Rangers v Llanfair United
Ruthin Town v Holywell Town
Rhostyllen v Berriew
Aberffraw v Penrhyncoch
Llanrug United v Caernarfon Town
FC Nomads of Connahs Quay v Denbigh Town
Guilsfield v Glantraeth
Cefn Druids v Gresford
Chirk AAA v Prestatyn Sports
Waterloo Rovers v Trearddur Bay United
Gwalchmai v Mold Alexandra
Caersws v Llandudno Junction
Carno v Flint Town United
Porthmadog v Bow Street
Holyhead Hotspur v Pentraeth
Dyffryn Nanttle Vale v Knighton Town
Penmaenmawr Phoenix v Buckley Town
Penrhyndeudraeth v FC Queens Park
Corwen v Prestatyn Town
Ton Pentre v STM Sports
Afan Lido v AFC Butetown
Briton Ferry Llansawel v Barry Town United
Risca United v Aberbargoed Buds
Goytre United v Monmouth Town
Llanelli Town v Panteg
Cambrian & Clydach v AFC Llwydcoed
Caerau Ely v Undy Athletic
Llantwit Fardre v Cardiff Metropolitan
Dinas Powys v Cwmbran Town
Llandrindod Wells v Cwmbran Celtic
Treowen Stars v West End
Goytre v Llantwit Major
Cwmbach Royal Stars v Aberdare Town
Garden Village v Rhayader Town
RTB Ebbw Vale v Caldicot Town
Aberaeron v Brecon Corries
Pontypridd Town v Penybont
Caerleon v Treharris Athletic Western
Cwmamman United v Taffs Well


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: