Bulldogs News

Rhondda Bulldogs Set for Awards Night

Ton Pentre Football Club will reflect upon the 2012/2013 season at their Annual Awards Night today (Saturday, 1st June) in the Bulldogs Clubhouse from 7.00pm where this season’s award winners will be announced.

Ton Pentre Football Club will reflect upon the 2012/2013 season at their Annual Awards Night today (Saturday, 1st June) in the Bulldogs Clubhouse from 7.00pm, where this season’s award winners will be announced.

Awards Night

Despite finishing the MacWhirter Welsh League Division One season in a mid-table position, the Bulldogs can still look back on an eventful season looking back on some fantastic performances from Dean Morris’ squad of players.

The season started very well with 4-1 wins over eventual champions West End and Cynon Valley outfit Aberdare Town.

Other key victories included a 2-0 home win over Bridgend Town in September and a 2-1 triumph at Bryntirion Athletic with 10-men in December.

One of the Bulldogs finest performances of the season came in March when Ton Pentre upset Taffs Well’s rhythm in their bid for the title.

With the Wellmen taking a 2-0 lead at Ynys Park the onlookers, which included over 50 groundhoppers, were amazed when following a three minute spell the Bulldogs found themselves 3-2 up. Taffs Well drew level during the second-half but a decisive Bulldogs goal 15 minutes from time proved to be the winner with the match finishing 4-3.

In April, a last minute equaliser away at Tata Steel secured a 2-2 draw, which prevented some of the teams battling against relegation from dragging the Bulldogs into the dogfight.

Ton Pentre’s season however, ended in an abrupt manner as the Bulldogs were due to play Barry Town in their final two games.

Due to Barry Town’s excellent FAW Welsh Cup crusade, which saw them reach the semi-finals, the fixtures against the Jenner Park outfit unavoidably ended up being arranged back-to-back in May.

The matches were never played, as just hours before the first game in the doubleheader, Barry Town’s owner withdrew the club from Division One following internal club disputes.

The above provides a snapshot of some of the Club’s memorable moments of the 2012/2013 season and later today (Saturday, 1st June) the following awards will be announced for individual performances that have stood out: Club Player of the Year, Players’ Player of the Year, Manager’s Player of the Year, Top Goalscorer and Goal of the Season. We will also reveal who has won the public vote to become the ‘Kenny Bowen Memorial Shield’ Supporters Player of the Year.

Ton Pentre Football Club would also like to take this opportunity to thank all of our sponsors for their help throughout the season, as without their assistance we would not be able to provide football in Ton Pentre.

The Bulldogs are steeped in history, which you can check out by selecting the ‘History’ tab from the menu at the top of the page, and with everyone’s help we can continue to create it.

Please show your support to our sponsors, who are listed here in no particular order:

CMS Teamwear
Jill Evans MEP
Central Pharmacy
Dewi Reynolds & Sons
N.C. Ironcraft
Ton Pentre Fruit Bowl
Browning Caterers Limited
Young & Phillips Chartered Accountants
G.M. Gas Supplies Limited
Above the Fringe Unisex Hair & Beauty Salon
Colourworld Decorating Centre
Carpets ‘n’ Carpets Limited
Picture Framing Service Treorchy
Steve’s Mini Bus Hire
Balloon Decorating @ Evans News
Rhondda Osteopathic & Sports Clinic
Leather and Pine, Ton Pentre
B.D. Fowler Ironmonger
Caxton Press
Central Bar & Catering Supplies
Ivor Hael M.O.T. Station
Hot Gossip Coffee Shop
Bailey’s Building Supplies
Howard Building Supplies
LT Insurance Services Limited
L & C Occassions
Chris Bryan MP
Hafod Snacks
Steve Jacka Motors
Ton Pentre AFC Social Club
Devonalds Solicitors
Gwynns Opticians
P.N.R. Gardening Services
1st Step School of Motoring
The Rheola Free House
Leighton Andrews AM
Evans Scaffolding


1 Comment on Rhondda Bulldogs Set for Awards Night

  1. We’re really looking forward to Saturday. Particularly the result of the Supporters Player of the Year public vote.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: